In all infinities lie all possibilities

The little mermaid

The little mermaid

I like blur in the photographs I make. I like capturing motion. Nothing stands still; everything moves. Some things just move more slowly than others but nothing is immune from motion. No matter how big, no matter how small, no matter how tangible, no matter how ethereal. Even time moves on relentlessly.

And is there anything more agitated than mind?

Anything?

Imagination perhaps? I mean, why not? All the imaginings of the impossibilities.

Maybe, just maybe because in all the infinities lie all the possibilities, all the imaginings.

Like a little mermaid, bathing in the shallows at dusk.

Enhanced by Zemanta
16 thoughts on “In all infinities lie all possibilities

  1. I love this image Cedric. Mysterious, creative, dynamic, story telling – what is not to like. As far as the agitated mind – well, I wish mine would shut up when it wakes me up at 3 a.m.

  2. Very fine, Cedric – the blur brings the image to another level, much nearer to a dream state of mind than reality. And so it more points to something virtual, existing in our imagination, much more than depicting a moment of reality. I think both ways of rendering this moment have their merits, but your “blurry” one speaks a more speculative language, open even for those that could not connect directly to that precious moment between night and day.

    • Cheers Markus. I find it a blurry line, that which separates reality from imagination. I suspect a lot of photographers, including yourself, feel that way at times when faced with just the right scene bathed in just the right light.

  3. A beautiful image, Cedric. An image that can be interpreted in countless ways. For me, the symbolism of a single individual wading into a very large ocean is very powerful. Like our own little tiny planet in a very large, ever expanding universe. Here we sit, on a distant edge of a moderately sized galaxy, as over 100 billion galaxies all fly away from us at astounding speeds. Talk about a humbling view of who and where we are……

    One little quibble, though (and I’m certain you know this). Time doesn’t move. It probably doesn’t even really exist. It’s a human construct; as Kant said, it’s an “intuition”. It “passes” only because we measure the changing of the earth’s position relative to the sun (and other bodies) by something we call “time”. And our version of time only works because we’re in a kind of low speed, low gravity environment. Get us closer to the speed of light near the event horizon of a black hole and “time” becomes something else entirely. Ah, the magic of relativity.

    Not to be picky, but I wouldn’t say that everything “moves”; I’d say that everything changes. Constantly. Infinitely. And, as you say, “in all the infinities lie all the possibilities”. The universe in a teacup. Or a mermaid in an ocean.

    • Our circumstances, when seen in the context of this ever expanding universe is, as you say Paul, quite humbling. I can’t help but wonder at our significance (if any). I have another photo taken near the same spot as this one that speaks exactly of that notion.

      It is true that time is merely a fabrication of the mind but time, as illusionary as it may be, feels all too real these days. The supposed reality of eternity is not something our brains can even begin to grasp. Much like the concept of infinity, whatever we imagine it to be, it will always be within the bounds of limitations set by our brains. I cannot help but feel that time does move and it moves us with it, real or not. I’m good with everything changing rather than moving, those are merely words after all, and in the end amount to the same thing. Thanks Paul.

  4. Wow – that’s a beautifully done image, Cedric! Dark and mysterious – right up my alley.

    Now, Paul – you know everything moves! We’re all just vibrating electrons – and if we’re vibrating we’re moving. Just ask Deepak!

    • Thank you John. Yes there is definitely that, at some level nothing is still and every thing vibrates. I’ve heard it said that this vibration is the pulse of life but that’s a bit too new-agey and touchy-feely right? ;)

  5. Hey Paul… give humans some credit, they invented time along with all of the other dimensions. But the odd thing about the time thing… it is the only dimension whose patina eventually obscures then erases the others… and then… in its cleverest trick of all… erases itself. But… to the image… blur is what happens between instants. It’s sort of the stuff going on between the frames in comics, or the cells in movie film… There’s an odd thing about the brain… It makes background invisible. As photo artists we travel frequently to bring fresh eyes to locales that others, the natives, can no longer see. The brain’s lazy because there’s only so much energy.. power… available to it, so it focuses away from the trivial. And the big-assed trivial is the stuff between the comic panels… the space between the moving picture’s cells. The brain won’t and can’t see blur. Odd how we see in faaaaaast shutter speeds then clump them together, blind to the background and space between grabs.

    It’s so mysterious to see time’s blur as you’ve captured it here Cedric.. Time at work, coating the other dimensions with its patina, eroding the craggy and textured, and eventually erasing what’s invisible to our brains. When we do capture time’s blur it is simultaneously romantic and terrible. I’ve often thought that nostalgia is what lives in the blur… Or is formed from it, huh?

    Last point Paul and John… Nothing exists until we named it. And then… say “time” for example… It is as real, tangible and relative as … as … a conviction :-)

    • You know your brains Ted and their peculiar inner workings. Tell me, have you ever wondered how it will turn out? The study of the brain I mean. Scientists are studying and analysing how the brain works by using their… brains. Can that work?

      Nostalgia living in the blur between moments, I like that, somehow that feels right. The way I’ve thought of it is that the blur between moments is what colours our memories. Sounds like we might be talking the same language Ted. Thanks.

  6. Cedric, first, a wonderful photo as all here have agreed. If I squint my eyes I think I can almost see time or change happening in much the same manner as this photo — and yes I’ve recently had my vision checked and it’s been corrected to 20/20!

    “…quite humbling. I can’t help but wonder at our significance (if any).”

    Above…from your response to Paul’s comment, I’d say in the largest of pictures we are all insignificant. Even if we find the leverage to change this world what does it matter to the billions of stars and planets in the universe. Mankind is still trapped upon this one small rock. A single grain of sand upon the beach.

    Our personal significance comes in how we use our awareness and the small amount of influence we have — to give, to create, to love and to be happy. But this universal insignificance is also a freedom — I personally don’t wish to be in control. I’ve long suspected being in control is a self delusion even in the best of times.

    • Well said Earl. I too, gave up on the belief that I was in any way in control of anything and since I apply that equally to everyone else it has made me much more compassionate. Of course in day-to-day life I still act “normal” by taking “responsibility” for my “choices” and all that ;)
      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

